Blueberry Salsa

If you’re wanting a summery snack and a change from your typical salsa, you’ll have to try out this Blueberry Salsa! I found the recipe at SouthernLiving.com. It’s a mildly spicy salsa, and it’s a great way to use fresh blueberries during blueberry season. It also has fresh cilantro and red bell pepper in it, which I love. You can serve it with your favorite tortilla chips—I like it with those blue corn tortilla chips.

There were actually two versions of this recipe at the Southern Living site—one with chopped onions and one without. I made it without the onions, but I’d like to try it with green onions next time (I’ve noted in the recipe below that onions are optional). It’s a great snack on a hot day, and we sure have been getting lots of hot days this summer! I think it would also be great as a topping on a salad, instead of using salad dressing. Or you could spoon it over a block of cream cheese and serve it with crackers for an easy appetizer!

Blueberry Salsa

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

BLUEBERRY SALSA by NancyC, adapted from Southern Living
Makes about 3 cups

2 cups fresh blueberries, coarsely chopped
1 cup whole fresh blueberries
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
3 Tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and finely chopped
1/3 cup diced red bell pepper
1/4 cup chopped onion or green onion (optional)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

In a medium or large size bowl, toss all the ingredients together—the coarsely chopped fresh blueberries, whole fresh blueberries, fresh lemon juice, chopped fresh cilantro, seeded and chopped jalapeño peppers, diced red bell pepper, chopped onion or green onion (optional), and kosher salt.

Serve immediately, or cover and chill until ready to serve.

Recipe from NancyC | nancy-c.com

Making recipes with fresh blueberries is the best! Do you have a favorite blueberry recipe for summer?

Sharing at Meal Plan Monday, Weekend Potluck, Fiesta Friday, Farmhouse Friday, Grace at Home, Thursday Favorite Things, Full Plate Thursday, LouLou Girls, Wonderful Wednesday, Inspire Me Monday, Happiness is Homemade.

19 responses to “Blueberry Salsa”

  1. This is a good way to use up all these blueberries! I’ve made a blueberry salsa in the past and I remember how many compliments I received on it! It’s a fun summer idea!

    Like

  2. This salsa looks so incredibly refreshing! I have never heard of a salsa with blueberries, but I am so glad now that I have a recipe for it! Looks really good and something that is perfect for summer. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! Amy

    Like

  3. OMG!..I always have ton’s of blueberries, this will be a yummy difference, I’ve got to try this.
    I’ve got some fresh plum goodness going on Loblolly Lane.
    ~JO
    Lazyonloblolly

    Like

  4. Thanks for linking up your recipe at Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you come back tomorrow and share some more of your awesome recipes!
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

    Like

Comments are always appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from NancyC

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading