Green Rice Casserole with Chicken

My friend Ann gave me this delicious recipe. This is a meal in itself, but it also makes a great side dish. It has chopped broccoli, rice, onion, cheddar cheese, and chicken as some of the ingredients. So you get your veggies and protein. Just add a side salad and you have something really tasty to serve for lunch or dinner!

Ann’s recipe calls for 3 cups of cooked rice, and, not paying attention, I added 4 cups when I made it one time. So, because I had added extra rice, I added a little more cheese to balance things out a little. Ann’s recipe is shown below, and I added notes on how I had made it with extra rice, just in case you mistakenly add too much rice! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GREEN RICE CASSEROLE WITH CHICKEN

Makes a 9 x 13″ pan

  • 1 (16-ounce) package frozen chopped broccoli, thawed
  • 3 cups cooked rice, cooked with water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes or pure chicken broth (I used 4 cups of rice by mistake–oops!)
  • 3 eggs, well beaten
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion browned in 3/4 stick butter (6 Tablespoons butter)
  • 2 cans cream of chicken soup
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (because I had used extra rice, I increased the amount of cheese to 2 cups)
  • 2 cups cooked, cubed chicken (deli rotisserie chicken works great) or 2 small cans of chicken

Mix all ingredients together and put into a 9 x 13″ baking dish. Bake at 325˚F for 1 hour.

If you want to make this ahead of time, you can mix all the ingredients together the evening before, refrigerate overnight, and bake the next day…or freeze before baking if you’re making it several days later.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s easy to put together and so good and cheesy! Everyone you’re serving it to will probably want seconds!

Sharing at Creatively Crafty, Homestead Blog Hop, Weekend Potluck, Farmhouse Friday, Thursday Favorite Things, Full Plate Thursday, LouLou Girls, Inspire Me Monday, Happiness is Homemade.

7 responses to “Green Rice Casserole with Chicken”

  1. This is perfect! I have way too much frozen broccoli right now and I’m running out of good ideas for it. I’ll definitely try this one. These are thrifty times for me, and I always have rice, eggs, and onions in my house as budget-friendly staples. Casseroles are the best sometimes. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you came across, this, Rachel–I think you’ll really like it! 🙂 I’m trying to be thrifty too, so casseroles are great when you’re on a budget!

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your awesome post with us at Full Plate Thursday 679. We sure enjoyed featuring your post this past week! Hope you are having a great week and come back to see us real soon!
    Miz Helen

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from NancyC

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading