Jumbo Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are my new favorite oatmeal cookies! They have lots of healthy oats in them, along with chopped pecans, raisins, and semi-sweet chocolate chips. The recipe I’m sharing with you is adapted from one I found at Allrecipes.com. My version has more chocolate chips and a little less raisins.

I made my cookies jumbo size too, so the baking time is a little longer. These are thick and chewy and really yummy. And because the batter has 3 cups of oatmeal in it, they must be at least a little healthy, right? 🙂 This recipe makes about 23 to 24 large cookies.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JUMBO OATMEAL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES by NancyC, adapted from Allrecipes

Makes about 24 cookies

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I used unbleached flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 350˚F. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla.

In another bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed butter mixture.

Fold in the oats, chocolate chips, raisins, and pecans, one ingredient at a time. Scoop dough with a 1/4 cup size measuring cup and drop dough onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake at 350˚F for 12 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes 23 to 24 jumbo cookies.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These are definitely hearty oatmeal cookies! They taste great with the chocolate chips, raisins, and pecans added in! Are you a fan of oatmeal cookies too?

Sharing at Weekend Potluck, Farmhouse Friday, Creative Crafts, Thursday Favorite Things, Full Plate Thursday, Homestead Blog Hop, LouLou Girls, Happiness is Homemade.

28 responses to “Jumbo Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. This is one of my favorite books!! It can be so fusterating not being able to see into the future. I tend to think I can control the things around me if I know where we’re headed. This book is a great reminder that God is in control and to leave things in His hands.

    Like

    • I think I’d want to try to control things too if I knew what was up ahead…I guess that’s why God shows us things a step at a time. The book is also reminding me how important it is to trust in Him with all my heart, even though I may not understand what He is doing. His plans are always best!

      Like

  2. Hi Nancy,
    This is a great oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. Your photo is amazing and I could just reach through this screen and have that cookie! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

    Like

  3. This the exact recipe that my mother always made and I have always made and I am 70 so you know it has been around a long time. These are the one cookie that my grand kids always ask for whether there is raisins and chocolate chips in them or not.

    Like

    • That’s great that you and your mom have made these cookies all these years! That just goes to show how good they are! 🙂

      Like

  4. Nancy – The cookies look incredible and sound amazing – these will be added to the to-do! Thanks so much for linking to The Sunday Showcase Party – I greatly appreciate it. I have featured this Sunday. Have a wonderful week.
    ~ Stephanie Lynn

    Like

Comments are always appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from NancyC

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading