Fresh Tomato and Chive Salad

The tomatoes in my garden are doing pretty well this summer. I have a cherry tomato plant (they’re pretty large for cherry tomatoes, though) and a regular-size tomato plant. The cherry tomatoes are doing especially well. With all these fresh tomatoes I was picking, I was wanting to try a few tomato salad recipes with them. This particular recipe is from an older cookbook I have, The Tomato Cookbook. You are supposed to use regular-size tomatoes for this, but since I had more cherry tomatoes, I substituted those. They worked out fine except that they’re a little harder to slice because of their small size. So, if you can, I recommend going with regular-size tomatoes if you have them. 

Here’s a little tomato tip from the cookbook: “Always serve tomatoes for eating raw at room temperature. Bring out their natural sweetness with a pinch of sugar and choose a dressing which will not smother their flavor. Drizzle a good-quality olive oil over and add freshly chopped herbs.”

OK, now for the recipe…this serves four; if you’re making it for a larger group, it’s an easy recipe to double.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FRESH TOMATO AND CHIVE SALAD by NancyC

Makes 4 servings

  • 1 lb. fresh tomatoes, at room temperature (about 4 medium size)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon snipped fresh chives

Thinly slice the tomatoes, discarding ends, and arrange on a platter.

Sprinkle the sugar, salt, and pepper over the tomatoes. Set aside for 30 minutes at room temperature.

Beat the oil and vinegar together and drizzle over the tomatoes; then sprinkle on the chives. Let set for another 30 minutes before serving.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One thing I did a little differently, since I was using cherry tomatoes, was that I arranged the tomatoes on individual salad plates and added the dressing and chives over each individual plate of tomatoes. But if you’re using regular-size or large tomatoes, the slices look really nice arranged on a large oval platter.

I really liked this salad, because it’s so easy and it’s a great way to eat fresh tomatoes! I thought it sounded odd to sprinkle sugar on tomatoes, but it really does add something, and it’s just a small amount. If you are a tomato-lover, I think you will enjoy this salad!

11 responses to “Fresh Tomato and Chive Salad”

  1. What great looking tomatoes! There is nothing better than a homegrown tomato. The recipe looks simple enough for me! I’ll certainly be giving this one a try.
    Thanks for sharing it.
    Fondly,
    Ann
    @
    The Tattered Tassel

    Like

  2. That looks so yummy and I’ve still got some tomatoes on my plants! I liked our two cherry tomato varieties best and our one large orange tomato was pretty good – looking forward to trying new ones next year. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

    Happy Rednesday,
    Sally

    Like

  3. There is nothing better than a good tomato salad and this one looks just perfect. Your tomatoes are beautiful as well. Thanks for the recipe and great pic’s of your salad!

    Like

  4. O’ my, you are killing me today. Good home grown tomatoes are my very favorite. Your dish of them looks so good. I would love to join you any day for just one big one to eat.

    Like

Comments are always appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from NancyC

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading